In their first years of eligibility, wingers Jarome Iginla and Marian Hossa were named to the 2020 Class of the Hockey Hall of Fame, board of directors chair Lanny McDonald announced in Toronto on Wednesday.

Four others were also inducted: defensemen Doug Wilson and Kevin Lowe in the male player category, goaltender Kim St. Pierre in the female player category and Edmonton Oilers general manager Ken Holland in the builder category.

For the first time in the Hall’s, history, the 18-member selection committee met virtually and voted electronically to determine this year’s honorees. Each inductee must receive at least 14 “Yes” votes in order to earn induction.

Iginla played 1,554 NHL games for five NHL teams between 1996 and 2017, 14th-most in league history. A true power forward who didn’t hesitate to use his body to throw hits or drop the gloves when necessary, he finished his career tied with Joe Sakic for 16th overall with 625 goals to go along with 675 assists for a total of 1,300 points.

Iginla captained the Calgary Flames for 10 years and reached Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Final with Calgary in 2004. Perhaps his most memorable hockey moment was assisting on Sidney Crosby’s overtime gold medal-winning goal with Team Canada at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.

Hossa won three Stanley Cups with the Chicago Blackhawks, capping off a 1,309-game NHL career where he scored 525 goals and 1,134 points.

Wilson and Lowe were both blueline stalwarts in the 70s, 80s, and 90s, and have had long careers in management after their playing days were over. Holland had a lengthy history with the Detroit Red Wings and guided the team to three Stanley Cups as general manager before moving to Edmonton last season.

The 2020 induction weekend is tentatively scheduled for mid-November in Toronto. McDonald said that a decision would be made by mid-August about whether those in-person festivities will go ahead.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.