Netflix co-CEO Ted Sarandos has been elected chairman of the board of trustees of the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures.

The trustees made the announcement on Tuesday, a month after Ron Meyer stepped down from the post in the wake of his resignation from NBCUniversal. Sarandos was vice chair of the museum’s board and served as acting chair following Meyer’s resignation.

“Growing up a movie lover, I always wished for a place like the Academy Museum — somewhere I could lose myself in the magic of film,” Sarandos said in a statement. “I am both honored and inspired to serve as Chair, alongside the magnificent Board of Trustees and museum staff, as we work towards our April 2021 opening.”

Miky Lee (Mie Kyung Lee) was elected vice chair and Jim Gianopulos was elected treasurer. Kimberly Steward was re-elected to her role as secretary.

The full list of the Academy Museum’s board of trustees includes: Sarandos, Lee, Steward, Gianopulos, Patricia S. Bellinger, Jason Blum, Arnaud Boetsch, Olivier de Givenchy, Laura Dern, David Dolby, Sidonie Seydoux Dumas, Ray Halbritter, Tom Hanks, Dawn Hudson, Ryan Murphy, Isis Mussenden, Katherine Oliver, Alejandro Ramírez Magaña, Dominic Ng, David Rubin, Regina K. Scully, Emma Thomas, Diane von Furstenberg and Kevin Yeaman.

The museum announced last week that its inaugural temporary exhibition will be a retrospective honoring Academy Award-winning filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki.

The presentation will be on display in the museum’s Marilyn and Jeffrey Katzenberg Gallery, and will debut when the museum opens to the public on April 30, 2021. The temporary exhibition, celebrating the legendary animator’s six-decade career, will be the first North American museum retrospective of his work.

The museum was originally being announced in 2012 and suffering several delays and budget problems.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.